pilates and ms

28Feb16

Out of date…

But I found an article I was saving from 2012 (OK, now I can get rid of it, I’m writing about it) out of one of my fitness professional magazines, talking about all of the benefits of Pilates for MS.

I think I am a testimony to that one…

But the article speaks of a study conducted on eight subjects (yeah, I know, small sample size) who performed Pilates-based mat exercises to help with balance and gait. (Pilates is advertised mainly to help us get flat abs. Whatever. I use it to keep a functional body. More important!)

Anyway, these eight individuals, after working with a therapist twice a week for only 30-minute sessions (that’s hardly anything! imagine what a little more could do!) plus a 15-minute daily home routine, there were improvements in walking and reaching for ALL of them. Several showed balance and stability improvements. That’s after only two months.

Imagine what you could do with a little more…

If you want to know how to find a Pilates professional near you, just ask me! I am a 500-hour trained professional myself, and I know what to look for (and not to look for). If you have MS or a similar condition, you probably don’t want to jump into a gym Pilates class… but if you’re in my class, you’ll do OK! (In other words, don’t judge a book by its cover.)

I attribute much of my functionality to Pilates and exercise — try it!

No Responses Yet to “pilates and ms”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

