goals for 2016

31Dec15

I’ve been pondering this post a lot, so much so that I’m only just writing it now.

Many of us have lofty ideas of who we want to be and what we want to do… or at least hopefully we do… (No goals in life? Give it some thought…)

I have a lot of things going on. Multiple jobs. A wonderful relationship. Heck, I’m in the middle of producing a community theater show that opens in just over 6 weeks… and in real life, I’m a science teacher.

(And I love to spend every spare moment planning, and talking about, The Next Trip!)

I hate to talk about that “slowing down” crap as a goal. First of all, it’s vague. What does it really mean? Take time with friends? (I take time with my husband and with friends, when they make time for us.) I love yoga and do restorative several times a week. I’m big on “work hard/play hard” and I think–I hope–I direct enough time into the “play”.

Maybe one of my main goals should be keeping the house cleaner? Mundane, but falls by the wayside in the 24/7 “work hard/play hard” bit.

And, keep doing what I’m doing — students seem to think it works? More Pilates if I can (body needs it)?

Be a better friend, and see what follows? Have I been too judgemental? (People are quick to cancel appointments in the Northwest. I’ve been working for years to find new circles… hence, I fill my time with work and other projects.)

And that, my friends, is my haphazard list of 2016 goals. Oh, less time in the hospital might work, too! 🙂

See y’all on the flip side… unless you’re in Australia, or reading this tomorrow!

One Response to “goals for 2016”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    I like what what you’ve said; it sounds like you’re pursuing happiness; and we would all do well to take a page from your book! The speaker at this year’s UofA graduation said exactly that: life should be the pursuit of personal happiness. Keeping one’s self happy is contagious. Makes a lot of sense to me. Brava and Happy New Year! ❤


Leave a Reply

