annual review: 2015

28Dec15

It’s that time! There are a few in the blog world, namely Chris Guillebeau, who conduct an annual review at the end of the year — what went well, what did not. Rather than a personal lashing with a wet noodle, I like to use this as a reflection, a recollection of things that actually did work out in the past year, as it’s human nature to reflect on the negative. Instead, it’s great to think of what went well — and use the things that may not have gone so well as lessons for the upcoming year.

Who’s in?

First of all: here’s a link to my main annual review from last year.

What worked in 2015?

  • First off, I’ve been great about getting produce into my diet. Even on my really early work days, I’ve been making green smoothies (with chia seeds, too! omega-3’s, hooray!) in mason jars the night before, that I have when I get to my office at 7. It barely takes any time!
  • I’ve been doing a lot of great HIIT workouts. Unfortunately I haven’t had time for running, as a result. Perhaps I should trade out once a week, but I teach enough spin still that I need to work out in a way that I maintain strength to teach.
  • A lot of yoga this year. It has helped so much with my focus. A coworker led me to a studio nearby which has a great yin yoga instructor, and it’s so calming and meditative. So while I haven’t really directly done my meditation (shame), I’ve been doing more meditative activities. I just have trouble with meditation…
  • Doing more weightlifting in the second half of the year. I’ve noticed that I really need to lift heavy weights to remain functional, and the first half of the year, I only did once a week. I’ve been prioritizing 3-4 times a week, even with my several jobs.
  • A great trip over the summer! We went to the Balkans and learned so much… about life, people, and travel skills. Even 3-4 days in each location, when logistics are a challenge, is not long enough.
  • And I CANNOT forget the BEST Dance MS ever! Over $5000 raised. I nearly killed myself doing it (I was literally in the hospital with upper GI problems the week before) but it was a great time. How can I make it bigger next year? I already have two huge auction donations. Anyone in the Seattle area care to help out? I have some ideas in mind…

Things that didn’t work out so well…

  • Crazy schedule with many jobs. I have a second major job working for an online school. It helps with the bills, especially with our new business ownership. However, between everything else, I don’t have enough time to do all of the workouts that I need, and I have every single second of my life scheduled (and no time for blogging anymore!). I’m looking for a time when I might be able to quit the second main job. To be continued…
  • Along those lines, I developed some pretty serious upper GI issues, probably ulcer-related. In and out of hospital, in and out of doctors. Still not resolved, but considering I have less pain when I work less… hmmm. I think it’s related to stomach acid production, ya think?
  • Headaches have been back and forth in frequency again, but I have no idea why. Summer = fewer headaches, but came back again around November. I wish I knew why.
  • And I wish many of these weren’t health-related of unknown cause…
  • Going on to first-world problems, trying to figure out where to travel next… I do love international experiences, which I share with my students as ways to get to know other cultures, promote peace, etc. But you know? I find, these days, that I really do love an American beach town. We were in Outer Banks (NC) last year, and in Balboa Island (CA) just recently… and I really like beach towns, and really want to spend time in those each year, too. I should be so lucky to have this problem, right?
  • My immune system is struggling with Gilenya (back to health problems) — more on that later, since the overall outcome is unknown.
  • So… I guess my issue right now… is that with so many chronic health issues, I want to do all the things now, while I still can. You hear me?

I have some major goals for the coming year (Dance MS 4 notwithstanding) and those will be listed in a future post. I’ll try not to whine so much about health… but the goal is to get everything done, feeling the best that I can. 🙂

How about anyone else? Any other annual reviews?

No Responses Yet to “annual review: 2015”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

