i’ll show those students

01Nov15

I think? I’m becoming more and more open about having MS. In fact, when I gave my “opening speech” as MC at the fundraiser, I had little problem talking to the audience about my diagnosis, which made me nervous in the past (says the career public speaker).

So, here I am, slowly starting to open up to my college students, as well. I teach nutrition, after all.

Why? Well, I used Taco Bell as a random example the other day, and tripped up, saying that I didn’t know details because I hadn’t eaten there in years.

There was a “yeah, right” from the 30+ students in the audience. This particular group is friendly and supportive, and they work well together. They seem to like me, so I’m thinking it was more joking than anything… but it struck a chord.

I didn’t say anything right there, but I wanted to tell them: some of us care about nutrition not just for vanity (as younger people seem to — as the younger ME definitely did). But I care about nutrition to keep myself working and functional, and it’s worked so far.

I don’t want to open the can of worms during my precious (short) lecture time, but I’m crafting something to say to them in online forum tomorrow. Something to give them new perspective — both on the importance of nutrition for overall health, and on MS patients in general (because they see high-energy ME in front of the class all the time, and they’d never guess I have a degenerative disease).

One more step on the path to advocacy!

7 Responses to “i’ll show those students”

  1. Last December I made a decision to start treating my body better by living a healthier lifestyle. Since then I have lost over 20 pounds and my symptoms may not have lessened much, but I am giving my body the best chance to fight back. It is one of the main focus points when I speak to groups about living with MS. My perspective is that by eating poorly, you are helping the disease and not your body.

  2. Keep up the good work! My husband and I are both 21 and have been diagnosed with Degenerative Disk Disease (I was 17 when first diagnosed) so we get the whole energy thing where people don’t understand what it’s like because they only see you in one instance

    • Good luck to the both of you… and especially if you treat yourself well, people don’t understand that yes, there *are* challenging times with chronic illness. I fare well, but my life is definitely not unicorns and rainbows!

  3. 6 Steve Yool

    Brava! As Crosby,Stills and Nash sang: Teach your children well…and know they (we) love you. Your life is an inspiration!


Leave a Reply

