the worst thing to say…

08Sep15

… to someone in a bad situation?

“It’ll all work out fine.”

Because, left to its own devices, a situation typically does not work out fine. You have to WORK at it. There is often a struggle. (And, in the end, the struggle is typically worth it… but leave it alone, and things don’t just “work out” on their own.)

But how many times have I been placated by someone who just says things will work out?

How many times have we ignored the elephant in the closet thinking things will “work out” anyway?

Denial is powerful, isn’t it? I’d love to think that things will “work out” and that I’ll magically regain the strength that MS has stolen from me. Or, how many times have we all put exercise on the backburner during the holiday season, saying we’ll get “back to it” later, saying things will “all work out” with our health in the end?

Don’t tell yourself things will just “work out”. Keep on pushing to be the best YOU that you can be. Oh, and if you haven’t guessed… I’d rather have your support and genuine friendship than the flippant “things will just work out”. Think about it… wouldn’t you?

2 Responses to “the worst thing to say…”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    I agree absolutely! It’s a ‘throw-away’ phrase that is not helpful at all. This reminds me of the fallacy of the long run (i.e., things will all work out in the long run) posited by the late philosopher Alan Watts. We all need to accept personal responsibility for our actions–and our true friends exhort us to be the best that we can be!

  2. OH, Brooke! I so feel you! Or “You got this!” Ummmm…NO. I’m doing the best I can, but there’s a lot of stuff that I have no control over. It’s hard for people to know what to say sometimes, and so they resort to those “throw away” lines. {{{{hugs!!}}} I admire your perseverance and determination to live a healthy lifestyle! 🙂


Leave a Reply

