boxing time

30Aug15

Time to put on the gloves, right? Not quite…

Actually, there are quite a few web sites that describe “time boxing” strategies to help with time management, such as this one. Meaning, if you struggle with multiple tasks, set aside a certain block, or “box”, of time to check your email, and that’s it for the day, Or, to clean this room of your house, or to work on a document…

As someone who struggles with chronic pain (maybe MS-related?) I see “time boxing” a little differently.

I have some days (too many!) where my head is pounding. I wonder how I’ll make it through the day. My prescription meds don’t entirely work. I wake up the next day the same way. Repeat. Over and over.

But since I think this is a hormonal issue (the joys of middle age…) it generally clears up within a week. Only to start again in a few weeks, but… it does clear up.

So when I’m in the midst of this pain, I have to tell myself that it does have an end. I put my pain in a “time box”. It’s a struggle at the time, but it doesn’t go on forever. And that’s somewhat of a relief.

I encourage all of you to put your temporary situations in “time boxes” as well… know that they will eventually come to an end, and that you will come out of this, most likely a stronger person. 🙂

One Response to “boxing time”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    This is a useful and inspiring idea! I’m going to share it with my students. Grazie my dear!:- )


Leave a Reply

