42 by 42

02Aug15

In a few days (on the 5th), I will be 41 years old.

I never get upset about my age. It is what it is, right? Instead, I use these time-landmarks as a way to set new challenges for myself. I’ve been thinking of setting 42 goals for myself by my 42nd birthday, just about 1 year from now.

I haven’t come up with everything, yet. And I’m willing to keep them fluid, as things change (health, finances being the key elements generally in flux for us). But the wheels are turning, as they often are when I travel. (Doesn’t that happen for you when you travel–there’s some personal reflection, right?)

Anyway, a few I’ve come up with:

  • One that I’m working on already: I’m producing a show with our local (community, volunteer-run) theater. That basically means I’m the project manager. More on that later!
  • Raise more than the $2300 I raised last year for Dance MS! It’s coming up in 2 months…
  • Cook a decent roast chicken. I think I did it once.
  • Maintain at least 3 weightlifting days per week during fall quarter. It’s really made a difference in my body to lift heavy that frequently over the summer, and I’d like to continue.
  • Read at least one fiction novel before the end of the summer. Yeah, this may be the hardest of my list so far. There are just so many other projects…
  • Organize all of my medical records in my filing cabinet… seriously, what a mess!
  • Try making no-knead bread. It’s been on my list for a long time, and if I publicly mention it, you guys will embarrass me if I don’t do it, right?
  • Every year, I have the goal of spending at least one day in a foreign country, so let’s try to make that before my 42nd birthday, eh?
  • And… I need to come up with the other 34 goals. Ha! If anyone has any thoughts…

I will come back to this list from time to time, to add more… for now, those are my 8 goals. šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “42 by 42”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Yep, we’re all counting down the last days until 5 Aug 2015–and what a great idea to come up with a list. I love lists, and this is a great start. How about 42 push-ups on your 42nd birthday? LOL! (This means I must do 68 pushups this year to keep up; yikes!) Well as we know, 42 is ‘the answer to Life, the Universe, and Everything’ and so it shall be a great year to find the next gear! I am looking forward to the fundraiser! : – )

    • Eh, I can whip out 42 pushups without a problem. šŸ˜‰ I’d list “run 42 minutes on my birthday” but I never know where I am. I didn’t get my birthday run in this year because 1. we were staying on the side of the mountain in Dubrovnik and 2. as it has been all but one day of this trip, it was over 90 degrees and at least 50% humidity.
      I thought of a few more ideas going along (on trains etc) but I should have written them down!
      You and Pat *are* invited to the fundraiser, eh?


Leave a Reply

