could it be…

30Jul15

that I’m reaching “that” age? I’m in my early 40’s and have had some crazy hormonal ups and downs. The M-word is what I’m talking about…

I recently had some bloodwork (significant) done to try and trace my migraines as well as lack of energy. This was all after my “accidental vegan” phase, where I was hardly ever getting animal products due to rushing between jobs (peanut butter sandwich here, piece of fruit there…). My ferritin (iron stores) was abysmal. Consider that I haven’t had a uterus for over 3 years–yes, that was also diseased–and I have less blood loss than a woman my age usually would.

However, for the first time in my life, my cholesterol and LDL were high. ??? Totally confusing, considering that I was hardly ever eating animal products during that time, and that’s the only food source.

As my endocrinologist told me… it’s a typical menopausal pattern…. sigh. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, given all the tumors etc. throughout my reproductive system and its quirks.

(For what it’s worth, all of my repro hormones were fine. But since those cycle so much throughout the month–my poor little single confused ovary doing all of the work–maybe they sampled my blood at a high point.)

And now I can justify my jaded fist-shaking when I want those darn kids to get off my lawn… I’m just old and cranky! 🙂

One Response to “could it be…”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Yes, here’s what WebMD says about the inverse relationship between estrogen and LDLs:

    http://www.webmd.com/menopause/news/20091211/ldl-rises-around-time-of-menopause.

    But your blood work showed hormones were fine. Hmmmm

    The Univ of Maryland Med Center favors psyllium for all kinds of issues, including cholesterol, but psyllium may affect drug absorption:

    http://umm.edu/health/medical/altmed/supplement/psyllium

    And you already lead a fastidious lifestyle of healthy diet and beaucoups exercise. So, hrumph, the mysteries of the human body persist. I agree that the time of sampling and number of samples could be a factor. It’s possible some MDs could benefit from a course in basic statistics, including timeseries analysis, since a single sample doth not define a trend. Just sayin’ : -)


Leave a Reply

