ms and loss of strength

13May15

Shortly after my diagnosis (defined by the only flare-up that I’m aware of), I started worrying about overall loss of strength. Of course–who wouldn’t?

The first thing I thought, after the end of that flare-up, was–“good! No more current damage happening to my nervous system, I won’t have any more loss of strength than I already have.”

But… that’s not how MS works…

Think about your (my? our?) nervous system like electrical wiring. MS damages the insulation on the wiring. With any degree of damage, the electricity doesn’t get passed through so efficiently. The same goes for MS–when there’s any damage to the myelin (insulation), the nerve impulse isn’t sent so clearly.

Yes, this means that even when we’re free and clear of flare-ups (those of us with relapsing remitting MS), the nerves aren’t so efficient. For me, that means that all of the strength training work I do at the gym has slightly less effect than it does for a healthy person.

Totally frustrating. But, it’s the reality that I have to work with. And, working with it is better than giving up and doing nothing at all, right? (So, who’s going to join me at the gym for some lifting today?)

3 Responses to “ms and loss of strength”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    BRAVA! 🙂

  2. You are so right. I am PP and was told my prognosis initially was I shouldn’t get much worse. NOT! I asked immediately about health and diet. I used to walk tons and Zumba 2 – 4 times a week. Found out two years ago I could do strength things to “retain and regain” muscle. Yes, it works and yes, it takes more time. Winter destroyed me but battling back. Gym for sure next week. You go girl!

    • WOOHOO! Let’s do this thang! I have a ton of work to do, but I work out every day! It’s a non-negotiable.


Leave a Reply

