be active, not passive

27Apr15

And get a heck of a lot more out of life!

Depression is everywhere. I see so many gloomy faces. It always makes me wonder… what’s wrong with everyone?

(Then again… people think I’m WEIRD for being all happy-faced much of the time! Seriously, it’s not drugs… I just always have something to look forward to!)

Sometimes, you just have to show your inner silly!

Sometimes, you just have to show your inner silly!

Anyway, I digress. I can’t count how many times I’ve heard a student recently tell me “have you heard the TED talk where…” followed by “you HAVE to see it!” Now… TED talks are innovative and educational, true that. But to me… they’re one step up from watching TV. Not quite so mindnumbing, they certainly generate discussion (so I occasionally use them when I teach class), but… you’re just sitting around. Not talking with others. Not interacting, not experiencing life.

I prefer to get off of the couch (uh, says she who’s been working on auction item procurement much of the day… sometimes, I end up working on the couch a lot) and DO things. Meet people. See things. This is where you really truly learn! And… getting out and breathing fresh air? Good for the soul. You will instantly feel better! Go outside and do something silly. You will instantly feel less depressed…

I can almost guarantee it. 🙂

2 Responses to “be active, not passive”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Such great advice!!! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  2. Funny picture. It does help my outlook to get outside – getting there isn’t so easy though. I know some people are wired differently and it’s not so easy for them to change with the scenery.


Leave a Reply

