how my health has changed me

11Apr15

Behind again… first week of classes (and teaching something new) along with husband’s birthday! Time moves so fast–I’m always thinking I have a few more posts saved for all of you, and then I check to see how far behind I am–ack!

Once upon a time, when I was a New Teacher almost 15 years ago, I had a passion to help the students who worked and were passionate just like me. I taught mostly the majors’ classes, because I knew they were as committed as I was. There are always some slacker students in a class, and I just. didn’t. get. them. I also had no sympathy for them. What was going on? What was up with them?

Over the years, students still seeming like they want to nod off in class. I am a very dynamic lecturer. Heh–ask anyone who’s seen me! (I had to ask a student this morning who’s had me for a few classes–I don’t make you dizzy, do I?) These days, I teach in a neighborhood where many students work long hours as well as going to school. (Interestingly, these aren’t the students who are late with their assignments; those with the busy schedules seem to have their organization together.)

But when I started dealing with MS, and other surgeries, and other medical issues… my empathy increased. I became a kinder, gentler instructor. I still held strict to my deadlines (no late assignments!) but I started feeling for the students who needed a little extra help. I saw a part of myself in those students.

As time progresses, however, I’m regressing back toward the mean. After dealing with the large number of cheaters just a few weeks ago at the end of winter quarter, my sympathy level has started to decrease. That said, at this point in life, when I see a listless student, rather than writing them off immediately as “not caring” as I did at the beginning of my career, I want to know their story. Maybe they’re out partying and don’t care. But maybe there really is something holding them back from top performance.

No Responses Yet to “how my health has changed me”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

