happy anniversary to me

30Mar15

Today marks an important anniversary in my life… an anniversary of survival.

A year ago today, I had a second surgery to deal with all of my abdominal surgery complications. The second surgery was, by far, the most worrisome. My husband says that the staff were worried about me… I don’t know how much he overdramatized the whole thing, but (if you’re squeamish, you should stop here) when my large ovarian tumor was removed on 3/27 of last year, I had the rare complication of my small intestine squeezing out through my abdominal wall. A full six inches managed to work its way out, becoming necrotic by the time I was opened up. I recently found the surgical report again, which stated that though the intestine functioned properly (thus they were able to save it), there were some patches that still looked iffy in terms of blood supply… (I’m hoping that, long-term, my gut holds up!)

Anyway, I am extremely grateful to the ER doc who finally examined my pained, puking body, and determined that some imaging was appropriate–he didn’t just send me home, like the previous doctor. If I hadn’t been more thoroughly examined… really, who knows what would’ve happened… Scary times.

Oh, and if you’ve never had an NG (nasogastric) tube–NOT recommended. Seriously. It’s made pretty much any other medical procedure since then seem like nothing in comparison… even the catheter I had while hospitalized.

(And another anniversary! 3/28 was the 3rd anniversary of a car accident that I shouldn’t have been able to walk away from… guy hit my stopped car going 50mph, the body shop estimated. Only soft tissue injuries in my neck, which hardly ever bother me anymore–good on me for being Pilates-trained!)

Count your blessings, eh… and every day, there’s something good.

2 Responses to “happy anniversary to me”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Amen! Happy Anniversary! ❤

  2. I am glad you are still with us and seem to have a resounding spirit. Congratulations.


Leave a Reply

