loss of strength with ms…

24Mar15

I was talking with a gym friend a few days ago about how I feel that I can’t take off too much time from the gym when I’m sick or injured, because of my MS. He looked at me funny, and I needed to explain… which makes me realize more of the lack of public knowledge about MS. (Or… maybe I just looked funny, and he felt the need to look at me funny.)

(Either way, putting on public health hat again)

MS indirectly affects our muscles, and the signals being sent to them by the central nervous system (brain and spinal cord). The muscles themselves are not diseased; the wires connected to the muscles–the nerves–are what are affected by MS. So if an MS patient decides (brain) to create movement in the body, the signal sent to the muscle performing the movement may be compromised. This signal is sent along nerves. We often use an electrical wiring analogy… and it is, in fact, an electrical signal being sent through the body, where voltages change inside and outside the nerve cells! We’re all electric! šŸ™‚

Anyway, I mentioned that the signal may be compromised because different MS patients are affected differently. Some people with advanced disease may be near-paralysis in some parts of their body. I am lucky and not very advanced at all, and only have a little bit of damage. Still, I notice that my left side is weaker than my right (owing to the fact that the left side of my spinal cord contains more disease than my right), and this is a functional deficiency I’ve been working on ever since I’ve noticed it.

(As a side note: some of the sensory pathways can also be damaged with MS, causing numbness and tingling. I don’t get much of that, but those days where my brain just can’t put 2 and 2 together? It’s a common MS issue… slow brain. Or… it could be due to something else. MS is always my fall guy, right?)

So this is why I push through the tired days, the days of soreness… I try to draw the line at severe illness and feeling an injury coming on.

One Response to “loss of strength with ms…”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Keep on pushing!(I know you will.) :- )


Leave a Reply

