a brave new educational world

07Mar15

As you know, I don’t always write about MS, here. I am a college educator (I still have trouble using the word “professor”, since that implies a one-way relationship, as I had with my faculty back in the early ’90’s) and improving the system for our students is a big priority for me.

I work at a small college in downtown Seattle. We try to find new modalities to make education more accessible for all. Recently I pushed through (and I do mean pushed) a hybrid version of one of my regular courses–instead of meeting 5 hours per week on campus, we’ll be doing 2 hours in person, 3 hours online. Our commuter students won’t have to spend so much time on campus, and our classroom space (lots of demand for that) won’t be under such a crunch!

This is a huge undertaking, and it starts in April 6th! So if I spend a lot of time on here talking about this new project, please forgive me. I am living and breathing work–aside from food prep (minimizing my processed food) and workouts are another non-negotiable in my life.

Anyway–this is a big “shoot high” goal for me! I’m sure it won’t work 100% the first time, but if I never try it, I’ll never know, right? There’s a life lesson there. 🙂

2 Responses to “a brave new educational world”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Bon voyage 6 April! Thank you for the insightful comment about ‘professor’ vs. ‘educator.’ : -)


Leave a Reply

