annual review: everything else

28Dec14

A few days ago, I started writing up my annual review, in the style of a few other bloggers. My first post only addressed travel, which is a high priority in my life. (I’ll admit it also gave me a few days to procrastinate on the other points…)

So, what went well this year?

  • Surviving three abdominal surgeries… one complication that nearly killed me. And, after having been in the hospital 4 days following up after the second surgery, going back to work just a few days later in front of a new group of students… to keep my health insurance. And living to tell.
  • Getting a handle on my migraines. I had a feeling, for a while, they were hormonally-related. I went through hell having headaches nearly every day for a while… and it put a damper on my summer travels, for sure… but after many hormonal supplements, I have had a great reduction in headache frequency. HUGE victory for me!
  • Teaching a completely new (college) class and feeling really strong about it. Plant biology is not my strength… yet it was part of my survey course that I taught, and I’m confident that I’ll do great when I teach it again next quarter!
  • Dance MS round 2 made even more money this time around! I was an auctioneer for the first time, and the auction made a lot of cash.
  • Rebuilding strength rapidly despite having to take 4 months off of working out. I’m pretty much back to the same weight I used to lift pre-surgery!

But many things can be worked on in the coming year… My goals:

  • Better marketing for Dance MS round 3, to get better attendance.
  • Meditate, meditate, meditate… and meditate some more. My mind never quiets down. My health could use some down time per day. A few minutes 4 times per week.
  • The last month, I’ve been good at Pilates 6 times per week, and I need to keep that up, since the MS definitely zaps my functional strength.
  • I may have said this last year… but this is the year I’ll publish an e-book on functional strength for MS patients. The online job got in the way of my summer, as well as the new class I was working on preparing.
  • Be more present for my students. Some days, I feel disengaged.
  • Be able to run a 5K distance by the end of March.
  • 5+ servings of fruit and veg daily… because people think I’m still close to 30 when I do. 🙂

I’m sure there’s many more… but I don’t want to get out of control. I’m realizing that my post from last year wasn’t anywhere near so specific. Maybe I should set a goal to not be so nitpicky. 🙂

Any of you have goals for yourselves?

3 Responses to “annual review: everything else”

  1. 1 Steve Yool

    Towards your second goal?


  1. 1 annual review: 2015 | In Search of My New Normal

Leave a Reply

