recent books

17Dec14

Heh, it’s sort of funny for me to write a post about “recent” books I’ve liked. As a college instructor always doing new course development and tweaking current courses on top of managing my health, I check books out of the library and frequently end of returning them after one chapter…

But here’s a round-up of a few books that caught my attention this year, hopefully in time for your holiday travels or days off (and no financial interest on my part–I just liked them!):

The Expats by Chris Pavone. Equal parts spy-novel, thriller, and tongue-in-cheek comedy. This book had me turning pages–it truly was hard to put down!

Taste What You’re Missing by Barb Stuckey–the non-fiction entry of the list. Truly informative for a food and nutrition nerd like me. Chock full of info about why we taste foods the way that we do and why different people have different food preferences. I’ve already started my second read!

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion–if some good came out of my emergency May surgery, it’s that I had time to read this wonderful book. Heartfelt, cute characters with a very American “fairytale” ending, but the means of getting there is a fun ride, for the reader. Especially fun if you’re a biologist with a genetics background (like me!) but not a requirement. 🙂

And finally… the book that I’m finishing up right now, To Be Sung Underwater by Tom McNeal. The writing is just beautiful, talking about relationships among your average American folks and the journeys taken to get there. I’m a sucker for great writing, and this fits the bill.

I’d love to hear anyone else’s suggestions that may match up with my list above–thoughts or ideas? (Best yet, I was able to get all of my list from my local library!)

No Responses Yet to “recent books”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

