on bravery

26Nov14

Throughout my MS journey, and my more recent abdominal tumor/surgery journey, I’ve had a handful of people tell me how brave I am.

While I appreciate that others recognize that I maintain a positive attitude under tough circumstances… “brave” isn’t the word that comes to mind, even though I see it frequently applied to those of us dealing with chronic illness. When I think “brave”, I think of the father going into the burning building to rescue his child. Me… I just know that the only way out is through, so I plod along every day, working my hardest and doing my best. šŸ™‚

My idea of brave... at the American Cemetery at Normandy.

My idea of brave… at the American Cemetery at Normandy.

5 Responses to “on bravery”

  1. Which adjective you would you apply to yourself? (Being positive)

    • Oh, always positive about this, no worries!
      One word… strong-willed. Able to leap giant buildings in a single bound.

      Was glancing at your blog–good stuff! I wish I had more time to poke around the blogosphere… alas, it’s the evening before (US) Thanksgiving, and I’m writing exams!

      • I appreciate your looking around my blog (or my blogs–I write a couple of others). I know it is tough to find time. Happy thanksgiving and good luck on your exams.

  2. Ah, the difference between US and British/Canadian English terminology: I am the teacher/professor doing the actual writing! Sometimes I think I need more luck to figure out exactly how to properly assess them… but thanks!


Leave a Reply

