eat your anti-inflammatories… egyptian red lentil soup! (easy recipe!)

11Nov14

Those of us with autoimmune disease (or any inflammatory condition) are told that turmeric is good for us, right? I take turmeric in capsule form as well every day as a supplement, but I figure it doesn’t hurt to consume turmeric in our food now and then, as well!

I love middle Eastern flavors, and I also like cheap and easy recipes–so when I found this recipe on Food.com, I was excited on all counts!

Egyptian Red Lentil Soup

It’s thick and great for the cold, wet nights we’ve been having recently. It’s seasoned with cumin, cilantro, lemon, and–wait for it–turmeric, of course! The red lentils fall apart into a porridge-like texture, and it’s also full of garlic, potatoes, and onions. Good, hearty stuff!

If you care about such things, it’s also vegan if you make it with vegetable broth. (I suppose you could make it with chicken broth, but I don’t think the flavors would go.)

Give it a try! It goes together in about an hour. Full-fat plain yogurt makes a great topping, as well! Try it, and tell me what you think.

No Responses Yet to “eat your anti-inflammatories… egyptian red lentil soup! (easy recipe!)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

