nutrition on-the-go

24Oct14

As my body recovers from my recent Tecfidera debacle, and I’m able to eat more complex foods, I’m trying to really focus on a whole foods diet.

See, most of the time–about 75% of the time–I’m good. But the rest of the time, I’ll come home from work or the gym and think, “I want something to eat NOW. Not 15 minutes from now, when I’m done cooking. NOW.” You ever get that feeling? And, unhealthy (or less healthy food) wins out, again.

So I decided to put an end to it all. I made various components that could go into healthy bowls during my week. Brown rice, drained and rinsed a can of black beans, sauteed some kale with garlic salt and onion, (I still need to steam the broccoli–later today; and I also still need to bake the sweet potato chunks) and the best part? A creamy curry sauce to top it all off that happens to be vegan/plant based. Here’s the recipe for the sauce. It goes on everything, including a spoon.

I now have these components in containers in the fridge. My first bowl that I ate (was crunchy and full of ceramic… anyway…) I also topped with a few sliced tomatoes after heating up, as well as some avocado that I had left over. Really, anything goes with these! And now that I have the parts, it goes together in less than 5 minutes. I think the ravenous beast in my stomach can wait that long.

I like big bowls and I cannot lie!

I like big bowls and I cannot lie!

No Responses Yet to “nutrition on-the-go”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

