eat fat. get healthy.

19Sep14

Ah, the 20-year-old version of me would never have imagined this post coming from the 40-year-old me. But I have changed my ways.

Yes, fat is the most calorie-dense macronutrient (9 calories per gram, rather than the 4 calories per gram in protein and carbohydrates). But during the fat-free craze back in the ’90s, when we ate carbs ’til we were sick of ’em (then ate some more… they were carbs, after all) and… just craved more carbs. But it was OK, as we were avoiding the “evil” fat.

Over the years, it took some convincing, but I increased the amount of healthy fat in my diet. By healthy… I’m talking about olive oil, avocados, nuts. I’m one of those ultra-controversial folks who’ll say that synthetic fats, such as canola, likely aren’t good for us (I’m not a huge fan of large amounts of anything synthetic), and of course, trans fats are something to avoid.

I also eat a reasonable amount of coconut oil–mostly sauteing in it. Yeah, it’s solid at room temperature. But our bodies liquefy the stuff, and it’s naturally occurring. There are still a few studies that have me on the fence about it, so I don’t drown myself it in. (though I’ve soaked my hair in it…)

Anyway. My point in this post is that once I started increasing the amount of fat in my diet–I honestly don’t track grams or percentages, I just eat–my weight has been easier to maintain, and I’ve been healthier in general. I just stick to the more natural fats.

Has anyone else had this experience… or something to share along these lines?

2 Responses to “eat fat. get healthy.”

  1. I recently found out that I have PCOS, and insulin resistance. As a result, I’ve tried to cut a lot of carbs out of my diet. For the last 2.5 weeks I’ve eaten eggs with ham, veggies, and cheese for breakfast, salads with hard boiled egg, bacon, spinach, romaine, and ranch for lunch, and dinners that consist of protein, veggies, and a very small amount of whole grain carbs. I’ve lost 7 pounds! I spent years working out and tracking calories, and never lost a single pound. It all makes sense! You should read a book called Why We Get Fat, it’s all about how a low fat, high carb diet does the opposite of what people hoped it would.

    • Yay Brittany! Glad to hear that you are on the road to recovery! I just wish that the traditional nutrition and medical community would open their eyes a bit more quickly. I tell my nutrition classes that I feel that sugar is much more evil than fat, and I get shocked expressions. I’ll have to look into that book! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

