eating for ms on the road

26Aug14

…or, eating healthfully at all while on the road.

So, so tempting on my recent road trip in the South to load up on everything around me: fried this, barbecue that, sweet tea until my eyeballs float… which is totally OK to do every now and then.

But after the first few days of our trip, my body was screaming, NOOOOO!!! I was sugared and greased to the gills. I’m not used to eating that way.

What to do?

  • I attempted to portion-control by sharing with my husband. We’d often order one entree and split it.
  • Sometimes, we were able to portion-control by just ordering appetizers. That way, we could also try multiple items. Unfortunately at some restaurants, the appetizers list was full of fried, cheesy, rich items (i.e. not dinner).
  • In more touristy towns, I’ve often found that “all you can eat” and cheap prices tend to go along with lower quality food. Yes, you get more for your dollar, but do you, really? If you’re getting more additives and preservatives…
  • I’ve also learned to listen to my cravings. (Hm… maybe not if they’re for ice cream…) I spent a lot of the trip craving tomatoes, of all things, so I figured that my body needed some component of the tomato. I didn’t eat them every day, but got them several days on the trip, figuring it was a sign.
  • I think it also goes without saying that if you’re traveling someplace warm… stay ahead of hydration needs. Keep on drinking. We were traveling in warm areas, I get dehydrated easily, so (sadly) I had almost zero alcohol on the trip–only a sample or two from a distillery. (It was how I avoided headaches…)

Anyway, just a few thoughts regarding eating, traveling, avoiding dehydration and other MS symptoms. If anyone else has other thoughts and would like to chime in, write ’em in the comments!

6 Responses to “eating for ms on the road”

  1. Traveling, a constant eating frenzy available for horrible food. Lots of water, hit local markets for anything healthy – nuts, seeds, dried fruit for your stops. Try to make good decisions when eating out…otherwise, your body will indeed respond! This is not an easy venture. πŸ™‚

    • Catherine,
      It’s got me thinking of another potential cause for MS! (No, not quite the obvious “processed vs. non-processed food” that most of us have already thought of–has to do with various phytochemicals in plants, which may also trigger a genetic susceptibility… Oh, if only I could go back in time and choose, again, an academic research pathway… I think I could still do something with meta-data!)

      • πŸ™‚ Couldn’t agree with you more. Check out the Wahls Protocol. We (my husband is supporting my venture) started a couple of weeks ago. I’ll be blogging about this soon. Stay tuned!

      • Hm. Wahls… I haven’t blogged about this, yet. I have quite the opinion about it. No doubt it really works, as there is evidence (anecdotal as well as some real research). Thing is, as with any restrictive diet, it’s so limiting that many people will immediately jump on a bandwagon, try it out, and unless they see immediate results… it’ll be too tough to stick with.

        Not to mention someone like me–who’s almost asymptomatic–I have a hard time considering going with a really restrictive diet in the first place. I think certain elements of Wahls are really key (hence the nutrition and epidemiology research I’d love to do), namely eating healthy, unsynthetic fats of all types, avoiding synthetic carbs, and eating brightly colored f/v from all over the rainbow (I’m wondering if the brighter the phytochemical, the more suited it is to protect us against anything).

        But one of my main agendas is to keep people with MS active and traveling… and it’s tough to keep on traveling if you’re on a really restrictive diet. Or, if you keep your restrictive diet at home, and you eat “whatever” on the road… boy, that would be a real shock to the system, and who knows how our disease would be affected.

        This has been a long comment. πŸ™‚ But lots of things going through this muddled brain of mine, and I’d love to develop a Wahls-lite idea. Without stealing her name. πŸ™‚

    • So, so true. But part of visiting the local culture is learning about its food. While I was eating plenty of fruit, even one serving of fried (insert chosen item here) every few days threw my sensitive gut for a loop…

      I’m now back in control of my food, and things are going much better!


Leave a Reply

