living the travelers’ life every day

13Jun14

Recently, I came across the following article:

How To Live Your Everyday Life With A Vacation Mindset

As someone with a chronic illness, and now coping with chronic pain and another potential chronic illness, it’s frustrating to not be able to plan travel as I once did. I’m always looking ahead to the day when my gut problems will be fixed (hmmm, maybe?), and I don’t have to worry about that causing problems if I plan to travel.

But rather than waiting for that “perfect” moment in our lives–which isn’t going to happen, right?–why don’t we try to figure out what it is we like about traveling, and create that at home? I’ve been trying to do just that. I’ve been trying to take some time on each of our recent sunny (!!) weekends to be outside, enjoying a nice drink or some food that’s gentle on my stomach. (And if it doesn’t work out with my gut, I’m close to home.)

Another semi-related point that the article makes: the fact that many of the airlines restrict us to one carry-on makes us think about what’s really important to bring along… in travel, and in the rest of life. What is truly important to carry through life? Are we holding on to a lot of baggage, whether mentally or physically? I’m good about traveling light, but I could always go lighter. And I feel the same way about my home life.

What are some other ways you could make your everyday life feel like a vacation?

No Responses Yet to “living the travelers’ life every day”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

