eat real food.

04Jun14

Recently, in my nutrition class, it came to my attention how much people are still concerned with calories. Yes, I have a limited sample (mostly 18-22 year olds), but it’s a fair representation of people who are coming of age.

I’ve been trying to impress into them the idea that if you eat real food and focus on nutrients, that you don’t have to worry so much about calories… especially if you incorporate some sort of movement into your life. But it seems some of that advice has gone over their heads.

After a long discussion about trans fats and the trans fat labeling sneakiness, incorporating my previous 8 week thread of eating real food vs. eating synthetic, man-made foods, I gave my students an exercise comparing nutrition labels of butter vs. a variety of margarines. They analyzed the types of fat in each one (trans, saturated, unsaturated…) and then came to their personal conclusion about which brand was the healthiest.

When I looked through the pile earlier today… a good 80% of them said that Promise Fat Free was the healthiest, since it contains the fewest calories.

AAAHHHH!!! Am I not getting through to them? “Fat free margarine” (which… really, what the hell is that?) is healthy? Since when? (And yes, I’ve tasted that crap. It’s spreadable plastic. Ick. I have no desire to use it again.)

Really… I am at my wits’ end about how to get this point across to students anymore. Eat real food. If it’s something like butter, just eat a little less. You’ll probably be more satisfied and not need so much, either.

No Responses Yet to “eat real food.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

