coming unglued inside

23May14

A few days ago, everything came to a head.

Monday morning, I was out running errands before my afternoon college class. I didn’t make it. Waves of the worst crampy abdominal pain sent me to the closest ER. I couldn’t even walk upright by the time I got there.

(but I emailed the school to cancel my class before I got IV pain meds… silly me)

Rounds of tests later, and I was back in for emergency abdominal surgery to clear another small intestine blockage (my gut was wrapping in knots, basically), said to be caused by adhesions (scar tissue from previous surgery, organs sticking to each other). I’m so blase about surgery now, that I don’t even worry about it.

I no longer have fainting spells (though I have a cold and feel weak from that) but I’ve looked up “adhesions” and all of my symptoms, and how I can prevent all of this in the future…

And what disturbs me is that it’s a common occurrence after abdominal surgery, I had textbook symptoms, and no one figured it out? I was suggesting a nerve irritation from scar tissue, and everyone poo-pooed my idea. Which is pretty much what it was! Eh, what does the professor of physiology know…

Anyway, there’s no real way to prevent internal scar tissue, as I can see, other than the surgeon being delicate. (I hope he was.) Some people report 10+ surgeries dealing with symptoms like mine. Which makes me wonder if I can ever plan anything again…

Does anyone here have any experience with abdominal adhesions? Hopefully my second time’s the charm…

11 Responses to “coming unglued inside”

  1. RE: emailing the school – isn’t it funny/ridiculous how we find the energy for others but when it comes to taking care of ourselves it’s just way too much? Take right now, I have the energy to agree with you but the thought of going downstairs and feeding myself just seems way too exhausting.

    • Well, part of me wanted to let them know that I was alive (and also not being irresponsible–I got to the hospital an hour before my class was supposed to start)… I don’t know why I feel irresponsible when I almost never call in sick! 🙂

  2. Oh wow, so happy you are okay! *big hug* With regard to the scar tissue, have you done any acupuncture? From personal experience I know it works wonders, I would be happy to tell you my experience if you want to PM me. Grateful you are on the mend and take care of you. ❤

    • I have in the past… but I hadn’t seen results for my MS and a few other things with my acupuncturist, so I just gave up on it. Maybe I’ll go back? It’s been almost a year since I’ve seen him…

  3. No experience with abdominal adhesions, however, each surgery, be it internal or external will leave scarring. You are your best advocate with asking lots of questions, being educated. Second opinions are always helpful! Fell better!

    • Thanks, Catherine. I want to send some of these doctors back to school, since I was suggesting it was a scar tissue problem causing some of my symptoms over the past few weeks, but everyone waved me off! I think too many practitioners are trained to deal with the standard patient: cardiovascular and pulmonary disease. I can’t count how many times my heart and lungs have been checked over the past few weeks only to get a clean bill of health in those systems! (I coulda told you that…)
      Unfortunately, being a physiologist is a double-edged sword, since I give a lot of leading information. Sometimes, it’s best to just shut up and let them observe what’s going on in my body! 🙂

      • I can appreciate and hear your frustration. Likewise, having worked in the medical field prior to diagnosis. One of the greatest gifts a physician can do for their patients is listen. Hang in there, keep being your advocate as you seek answers! 🙂

  4. Thanks, Catherine! I appreciate your (and everyone’s) support!


  1. 1 when i became fearful | In Search of My New Normal
  2. 2 flippin’ the calendar | In Search of My New Normal
  3. 3 happy anniversary to me | In Search of My New Normal

Leave a Reply

