yes, diet can really help.

14May14

On a recent visit to the ER (sigh, yes again, scary post-op symptoms rearing their head, all seems fine) I, of course, am one of those who gives a detailed history to the staff. (Physiology teacher… you expect it, right?)

So, before they discharged me, one of the questions that came up: this couldn’t be an MS symptom or anything, right?

Highly doubtful, I told them. In fact, I continued to tell them that I had really ever experienced only one flare-up that I noticed (it was a really big one, but I’ve mostly recovered) and that that was almost two years ago; and that I continue to keep things under control through diet and exercise.

Their eyes went wide, since I told them I have between 25-30 lesions in my brain and c-spine. Yes, traditional medical staff (RNs and PAs) and the ER were incredulous that lifestyle choices such as mine could affect one’s outcome. I tell lots of people these days that my MS feels mostly just like a label, something I need to tell my health professionals about.

Goes to show… if you take care of your body, there’s no guarantee that you’ll do well (I did have a recent cancer scare, after all) but your odds will be better! And I really wish the western medical community would recognize this…

7 Responses to “yes, diet can really help.”

  1. Happy to hear you are doing better! I agree that taking care of our bodies does help! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 2 lissms

      What diet are you following? Anything specific?

      • Hi–I don’t follow anything specific, I just eat a lot of fruits and vegetables, and try to significantly cut back on refined flours. I try to get omega 3 fatty acids in natural form most days, in addition to my daily supplements, since I believe it helps with myelin repair. Good luck!

      • 4 lissms

        That’s great! Have you ever heard of the autoimmune protocol diet? It’s a strict paleo diet that has been written about that says it has great effects on MS. I’ve been researching it lately and might try it. Food for thought, (ha!)

      • No I’ve never been on a diet, I just eat healthy, lots of fruits and veggies and next to none processed foods. It’s the way I was raised and I have done my best to raise my children the same way! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Well–I’ve been struggling with some other symptoms again, but just doing my best to take care of myself and not pump myself full of junk food. Figure that’s the best plan. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Oh my, I’m sorry to hear it! I hope things ease up soon! And there is lots of “healthy” junk food, well maybe not healthy, but better then the alternative, do you have a Trader Joes or Whole Foods near you?


Leave a Reply

