again, advocating for yourself

02Apr14

I write this post from the hospital, recovering from an emergency surgery to deal with complications from this. While I understand that many of their patients don’t come in with my background (teaching physiology and general interest in holistic health), I feel like many of my concerns have not been addressed.

Which makes me worry, because there are so many people who don’t have my level of knowledge about the body, and will just accept whatever their health team gives them. For instance, I believe that several of my current issues come from simple dehydration–I wish they’d put all of the pieces together when I tell them.

This is inspiring me to come up with a self-care basic physiology tool, maybe a few flow charts to help you guys out with symptoms that can be grouped together? (But when I’m not on so many narcotics, perhaps.)

Unfortunately these days, too many practitioners see the symptoms as individual pieces rather than a group. Sigh.

No Responses Yet to “again, advocating for yourself”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

