natural detox (plus recipe!)

12Mar14

Recently, I’ve talked about detox teas and other kinds of naturopathic remedies I’m trying, mostly for my chronic pain.

And, it’s easy to fall prey to the idea that you can drink a magic concoction, and all your problems will be solved……

Yet, there’s also a category of foods that appears to help our liver function, as well. For you fellow women out there, it helps bring our circulating estrogen levels back to normal, if they’re high. That would be……

CRUCIFEROUS VEGETABLES!!

Bring on your cabbage, brussels sprouts, (trendy) kale, broccoli, cauliflower, arugula… I’ve been working on 2 servings a day. I get at least one every day, and I get two at least 5 days a week.

Good thing I’m a fan of coleslaw–problem being, the dressing is often processed and sugary. Lately, I’ve been keeping one around that’s a modified version out of Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything:

(my recipe is very free-form)

1/2 – 1 head shredded cabbage
(sometimes I also add shredded carrots, bell pepper… variety!)

Dressing:
1/2 – 1 clove finely minced raw garlic (depends on if I’m seeing students I like afterward)
2 tsp mustard of choice (dijon, grainy work best)
1 1/2 tbsp acid of choice (recommended: red wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, combination)
1/4 tsp salt (start with this–you can add more)
Optional add-ins: ground black pepper, pinch of cayenne
1/3 c olive oil

Whisk all dressing ingredients together except oil. Then add oil slowly while whisking–it should emulsify. Pour dressing over rest of salad and toss.

Lots of flavor…. doing your liver (and colon) a favor! Plus keeping vampires away!

No Responses Yet to “natural detox (plus recipe!)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

