running! (again? maybe?)

04Feb14

(First: congratulations to my local Seahawks!!)

Once upon a time, I ran a handful of marathons (and a few half-marathons). That was then… 10-15 years ago. Not that I really have the intent to run that far anymore, but it would be nice to at least run. It’s a convenient form of exercise for when I’m traveling.

Later last year, I started really having left knee problems (pain above the kneecap, pain lateral to the knee) that I couldn’t really easily solve. Even with a week or two off, it would just come back… and even cycling bothered it sometimes.

More recently, I’ve decided to take an in-depth, concerted effort toward really rehabbing this left knee, both through stretching and strengthening exercises. I’ve been working on my outer hip muscles, since I’m also quite knock-kneed and getting worse since my diagnosis. I’ve also been working on my quads, specifically the vastus medialis (VMO), since I imagine my kneecap isn’t tracking properly. (That muscle is weak in many women in general, and it’s responsible for the last 10% of the extension range of motion.)

A few days back, I actually RAN for 20 minutes for the first time in a few months! I felt no pain (until I climbed the few stairs back to my house… there was a little creakiness there) but it was HARD.

So I’m going to keep on trying this, at least once a week, maybe more. I’m going to keep up my own PT plan, since that will serve me well no matter what I do. Wish me luck that I’ll be able to build back up to, say, 45 minutes at some point! (Pitiful for a former marathoner…)

6 Responses to “running! (again? maybe?)”

  1. All the best in building yourself back up! With my last injury I have noticed in the past couple weeks my body is remembering what it is supposed to do…and pain free! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! And I have to keep on giving myself the same advice that I give my students–set realistic health and fitness goals. At this stage, running 1-2 times a week for 20 minutes, in addition to my normal routine, is just fine. It’s difficult to accept, considering the marathons I ran years ago… but that was how many years ago? πŸ˜‰

  2. Not pitiful at all! You don’t need luck. You’ve already gotten yourself through the hardest part, and that is starting again. Congrats, and happy running! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Of course, it’s suddenly 18 degrees here and maybe snow along with that this weekend… I might just have to wimp out this week. We’ll see.


  1. 1 six more months… | In Search of My New Normal

Leave a Reply

