getting your (yummy) vegetables–a scramble.

29Jan14

I made this for brunch last weekend and shared with my husband–my best friend. ā¤

Based on ingredients in a sandwich I had in Paris. I thought it would be a great way to get more veggies in us! (And I took a pic, but once you read the ingredients, you'll see that it just looked like a pile of moosh. Tasty moosh…)

1. Caramelize a chopped onion in a large skillet (basically, cook over low heat for a long time, until they get brown). I also added a minced shallot and caramelized that, as well. I cooked in a mixture of olive oil and melted butter. šŸ™‚

2. Add some sliced mushrooms. I had 4 oz crimini in the fridge that needed to be used up. Saute all together until the mushrooms are soft.

3. I added two chopped Roma tomatoes… went a bit overboard on the tomatoes, you can add a smaller amount, but I think it worked. Saute a few minutes, just to let 'em soften.

4. In a bowl, blend 8 eggs until uniform. Add 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp ground pepper; stir. Pour into the mixture in the skillet, and stir often as curds form.

5. When egg mixture appears partially dry, stir in 1/4-1/2 (to taste) c grated Gruyere or Swiss cheese. Mix well until melted.

And voila! C'est fini! (Gloppy and gooey, but yummy!)

No Responses Yet to “getting your (yummy) vegetables–a scramble.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

