contrast hydrotherapy

23Jan14

One of the strategies recommended to me by the naturopathic clinic was contrast hydrotherapy. If you’re as clueless as I was when they were talking about it, here’s a good short article explaining what contrast hydrotherapy is.

Basically, when you shower, you alternate cycles of hot and cold for (my clinic suggested) three times, ending with cold. This article doesn’t talk about a particular pattern, but my practitioners suggested that, at the minimum, I run the cold water over my inguinal lymph nodes (front hip crease), my cervical lymph nodes (neck), and end each cold round with a “bull’s eye” circle around my belly.

Why torture ourselves like this? The alternating pattern actually increases our circulation, getting the blood pumping more through our body. Therefore, it improves circulatory function, it can improve immune function, it can aid recovery from workouts, it can help your body heal faster from anything, it can ease your chronic pain (my few migraines have been less severe in the week since I’ve started… or perhaps I’ve just had an “off” migraine week?)… and it doesn’t cost you anything beyond what you’re already doing.

So, why not give it a try? 🙂

One Response to “contrast hydrotherapy”


  1. 1 naturopathic follow-up | In Search of My New Normal

Leave a Reply

