for my next fundraiser…

16Dec13

The local MS Society chapter was wowed by the $1600+ that I raised last month! Woo hoo!

And, of course, I’m thinking about all sorts of changes for next year. One of the big changes I’m thinking of making, since I anticipate being able to raise more money, is a minor change in destination for the funds.

Even before the fundraiser, I’d been thinking of finding a research lab doing promising work, that I want to help… but I ran out of time. (Having done academic research before, and knowing that funds get earmarked in specific ways, I want to have a good dialogue going with the lab prior to promising them a donation, to make sure the actual research projects get my money, rather than 100 ice buckets.*)

Anyway, I have a few labs in mind, and I’m going to start chatting online with a few.

However, for the fundraiser, I think it’s still important to have the label “MS Society fundraiser” for name recognition… thing is, much of the funds raised go toward patient services–things like wheelchairs for folks who can’t afford them, subsidies for expensive drugs (which I benefit from), travel expenses to MS clinics, volunteer programs… etc etc. And while these are all fantastic services, if we did enough research to cure MS… we wouldn’t need patient services for much longer, now, would we?

So, my plan is to fundraise 50% of funds toward my chosen lab, and 50% of funds toward the MS Society for next time. I’ll be keeping you posted about the lab! (There’s one at Stanford I have my eye on.)

*It’s happened! In grad school, I worked on a research project that was already well-funded. We got a grant that needed to be spent by a certain date, couldn’t think of anything else to get… but a bunch of ice buckets. Yes, your tax dollars at work.

5 Responses to “for my next fundraiser…”

  1. 1 Jennifer Brousseau

    Hi,

    I hope this finds you well. I represent Healthline, a medical website dedicated to providing trustworthy health news and advice.

    We just launched a new product with our partner TrialReach that allows you to search for clinical trials in an area for a specific medical condition.

    I thought you would be interested in our Multiple Sclerosis clinical trial results: http://www.healthline.com/health/trial-reach-multiple-sclerosis-clinical-trials

    I am writing to ask if you can help spread the word about this great new tool by including it as a resource on your page: https://seekingnewnormal.wordpress.com/

    Please let me know if this would be possible. I’m happy to answer any other questions as well.

    All the best,
    Jennifer Brousseau • Marketing Assistant
    p: 415-281-3100 | f: 415-281-3199

    Healthline • The Power of Intelligent Health
    660 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
    http://www.healthline.com | @Healthline | @HealthlineCorp

    About Us: corp.healthline.com | Media Kit: mediakit.healthline.com

  2. I believe this is one of the so much significant information for me.
    And i’m happy reading your article. But wanna statement on some basic things, The
    site style is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

    • Thank you for the feedback–I have been planning to write some posts on the basics of MS. Considering that I am a physiologist, my background lends itself to this well. 🙂

  3. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of
    your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site in my
    social networks!


  1. 1 dance ms, round 2! | In Search of My New Normal

Leave a Reply

