limitations are an illusion

14Oct13

This title is something that I came up with in the wee hours of the morning, before heading out to catch my bus to work a few days ago–I posted it on my Facebook feed.

It’s how I live my life, as someone with MS. It’s how I try to push myself every day, physically and mentally. I don’t let my disease hold me back from doing anything I otherwise would do as a “normal” person (whatever “normal” means).

There are some days, after a hard workout, that my body feels really beat up, and I know that I need to cut back a little–maybe only some weights and yoga and stretching that day. But you know? A “normal” person would experience the same thing. In fact, there are many “normal” people who wouldn’t even be able to pick themselves up off the floor after my typical Wednesday (4 1/2 hours of very animated lecture in front of a classroom, 30+ minutes of heavy weightlifting, 60 minutes of an interval cycle class, then home to do 15-20 minutes of yoga as best I can). These are the days that I honestly forget that I have any muscular limitation… it really is just a label.

Do your best to figure out which “I d’wannas” are all in your mind. Push through ’em. That’s truly where the breakthroughs come.

No Responses Yet to “limitations are an illusion”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

