obamacare and chronic illness

11Oct13

I’ve been trying to sort through the articles and the paperwork to figure out how the Affordable Care Act and Obamacare changes are going to affect me, as someone with a chronic illness. I’m sure I’m not the only one in this boat.

I am lucky, right now, to have double health insurance coverage (well… lucky to be covered, I suppose; I do pay premiums, after all). I’m covered with one of the better plans through work, and I’ve had my own coverage for years (which, of course, has a high premium, and I’ve chosen a plan with a high deductible).

I’ve kept my own plan, despite having the plan through work that kicked in earlier this year (too many job changes), because the teaching I do for the college is contract-based. My classes have been in-demand enough that I’ve been requested back each quarter, but technically, I’m rehired each quarter, which means I could lose my health insurance at the end of a quarter if enrollment were to significantly drop. Chances of that happening are slim, but possible.

I just got a letter in the mail from the self-insurance provider, no surprise, that they’re having to change all of their plans at the first of the year, and mine is going away, won’t I choose a new one? The letter doesn’t have any dollar signs attached. As someone with a huge pre-existing condition, I’m a little scared to let my own policy go. I know there’s talk that “pre-existing conditions won’t matter anymore in the near future”, but I don’t trust any promises from our government until they actually happen.

I suppose I’d be protected by COBRA for a while in a worst-case, which is still cheaper than having paid a monthly premium for my own policy… ???

Anyway, tough decisions to make for many of us over the coming months and into the new year.

No Responses Yet to “obamacare and chronic illness”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

