refusing to be the victim

11Aug13

Not an easy topic to talk about… but I really want to.

I see a lot of people as “victim” personalities these days, you know what I mean? I’m overweight, it’s not my fault, I’m going to WHIIIIIINNNE about it so much ’til I ostracize my entire social network… OK, not everyone’s that bad about it, but it seems that many ills are “not our fault” anymore, so we do nothing to try to correct them other than complain.

Far be it for me to say that MS is my fault, or anyone’s fault. We have no idea. (For all I know, it could be related to something I innocently did as a child.) But rather than wearing my daily symptoms on my sleeve for everyone to hear (and get annoyed about), I soldier on. I fight back. MS will not take me down!

I figure, the people who care to hear my day-to-day struggles will ask about them. (And there are some who do ask, bless them.) Those who don’t–I don’t need to whine to them. Life goes on! I fight on, and they probably have their own challenges… why complain about mine?

No, I can’t go and run 5 miles a day anymore. But I give this disease the best swift kick I can every day. And that, my friends, is indeed the best defense.

No Responses Yet to “refusing to be the victim”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

