lessons from ms: don’t look back.

28Jun13

MS is a fantastic teacher. Many of us have gone through the “what if”s with our disease: if only we’d noticed a particular vague symptom and gotten it checked out, maybe we would’ve started meds earlier and been better off; if only our doctors had been more thorough in checking us out; and so on.

But you know? You can hypothesize forever and ever about how you could have done things differently in the past, but none of them will change how you are right now. You can’t change the past.

So rather… focus that energy on improving the future we have ahead of us! It makes no sense to dwell in a past that we can’t change.

Since my diagnosis, I’ve kept this in mind even more. My disease has helped me to move on, both medically and in other aspects of life.

3 Responses to “lessons from ms: don’t look back.”

  1. 1 MikeW

    Another shared gem forged from your valiant walk.

  2. MS is a teacher and I am a slow learner! I am getting there though. 🙂

    • I have my days where I just want to scream, as well! (Definitely not my best moments.) But we all have those, healthy or sick, as part of the journey of life. 🙂


Leave a Reply

