overdone

22Jun13

A few days ago, I had my first experience of “overdoing it” with, I’ll guess, my MS and my body. We took a train from my mother-in-law’s house to Manhattan and saw some sights that we hadn’t seen before, and ran around the city visiting friends here, there, and everywhere. The schedule was packed, and we went between Brooklyn, South Street Seaport, Penn Station, Grand Central Station, and the Upper East Side. We took the subway a few times, but I’m cheap and decided we would walk a lot of the route. Of course, to avoid being late, I pushed the pace.

Between too much walking, too much sun, not enough water, and not controlling my diet, I would up exhausted and with an uncontrolled/unresponsive migraine the next day. I suppose I’m not as invincible as I used to be.

Moral of the story? It’s worth paying $2.50 for a subway ride to not feel like crap the following day. It’s worth stopping off and buying something hydrating (gatorade, coconut water, etc) now and then to make sure I feel OK. However, I’m also not fragile–I don’t have to sit and watch the world pass by me all day long.

It’s all a learning process, figuring out what I can do…

No Responses Yet to “overdone”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

