fatigue? maybe not…

18May13

For weeks, I’ve been complaining about the “hidden” MS symptom of fatigue. I’ve felt run-down and tired, so that seemed to be the best label for what was going on.

Yesterday, I decided to remove that label from my vocabulary, at least for now. I was chatting with one of my occupational therapists (who I see for thoracic outlet syndrome–supposedly not related to my MS) and mentioning this so-called “fatigue”. He was telling me that I could mitigate this fatigue through conserving energy–taking the elevator at work instead of the stairs, finding a lighter workload at another school… And when I came home and read about MS fatigue, I discovered that this refers to people who make it partway through a household chore (say, making the bed) and just can’t muster the energy to do the rest.

Nope, that’s just not me. I don’t quite have 100% muscular strength to do what I used to, but I don’t fit the above categories. Upon further thought, I started realizing that my insomnia might be causing me to drag during the day, which I was interpreting as “fatigue”. (Insomnia: even on my more tired days, falling asleep immediately, but only for 5-10 minutes, then waking back up for a good hour.) While the insomnia is annoying and takes a lot out of me, I’d say it’s a much more benign symptom than “MS fatigue”, and I’ll take it…

Not to mention that I have a more concrete data point. I’m a bit leery of herbs which help with insomnia (due to all my prescription meds) but I’ve started working with my acupuncturist to hopefully get to its root.

No Responses Yet to “fatigue? maybe not…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

